Dull Losing Session Heats Up in Final Orbit

06Mar10

Yesterday I was playing two tables of .25/.50 Limit and it seemed like nothing could go my way. I hadn’t gotten involved in many big hands in the whole session, just raising and value betting down. I’d either lost at showdown or had my c-bets raised and had to give it up on the turn. But they added up, and I’m down about 25BB.

Right during my last orbit, I opened a pot in middle position with 77 and figured I’d either win the blinds or maybe get called by the BB.

Preflop: Hero is MP3 with 7, 7
4 folds, Hero raises,

The table had gotten pretty weak-tight, and I was all ready to just call it a day. Never thought all this would happen…

CO 3-bets, 1 fold, SB caps, BB calls, Hero…

I get 3-bet behind me, the SB caps and the BB takes two more to the face. I thought about it for a second: I’m getting 7:1 immediate odds to play against 3 players and my odds of hitting a set are about 7.5:1. I have good implied odds with so much action, and I don’t think the other players play very well postflop. SB’s cap worried me, however; he had a PR% of 0 over a small sample.

Here comes the next surprise:

Hero calls, 1 fold

CO, the original 3-bettor, disconnects and folds when he was getting 15:1 in a capped pot. I bet he had a few choice words for his ISP.

Now there are only two opponents, and I’m really liking it. I might be up against an AK and the BB seems bad so he could be holding a very wide range.
Flop: (15 SB) 7, 8, 9 (3 players)
SB bets, BB calls, Hero raises, SB calls, BB calls
Bingo. Hit the set. But it’s a very wet board. SB’s bet could mean a big pair or an unimproved AK, both of which I’m crushing. I’m really hoping BB didn’t call with JTs. I clearly raise and they both flat.
Turn: (10.5 BB) Q (3 players)

SB bets, BB calls, Hero raises, SB calls, BB calls
Good turn, but now I really don’t know what they have. Why did SB donk again? Is BB on a flush draw?
River: (16.5 BB) K (3 players)
SB checks, BB checks, Hero bets, SB calls, 1 fold
The flush card hits, but I’m not too worried about that, especially after they check to me. I bet again for value, thinking I can get called by AQ, AK or a whole lot of other wtf hands. The pot is very big.
Total pot: (18.5 BB)

Results:
SB had Q, A (one pair, Queens).
Hero had 7, 7 (three of a kind, sevens).

Full-Tilt Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com

He had an AQs, which hit top pair on the turn.

BB stuck around the whole way only to give it up on the river, and wasn’t even chasing the flush. Maybe an ATs? JJ?

With this pot, I got back up and I took down another small pot at my other table to finish about even. I’ve been running really well and I’m up 4.22 BB/100 over 2,000 hands this month.

But let’s not be results-oriented over the results of a couple of sessions…

No Responses Yet to “Dull Losing Session Heats Up in Final Orbit”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

